The New York State Senate adopted seven bills which aim to prevent sex offenders from having contact with children and college students. Read more..
When charged with a drunk driving offense, a person may face penalties including license suspension, fines and jail. There are different ways in which a person can be charged with drunk driving. It is important to hire an experienced criminal lawyer in New York.
Driving While Ability Impaired By Alcohol (DWAI): When a person drives while intoxicated and his/her blood alcohol content (BAC) ranges from 0.05 to 0.07, that person can be charged with “driving while ability impaired by alcohol (DWAI)”.
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI): A person can be charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) when his/her BAC is 0.08 or more. If there is no BAC tests, one can still be charged if the police alleges there is evidence to prove the diver was under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Aggravated DWI: One can be charged with aggravated DWI if his/her BAC is 0.18 or more, resulting in penalties.
Drivers with BAC 0.02 to 0.07: The Zero Tolerance Law in NY says a driver under the age of 21 with a BAC from 0.02 to 0.07 can be charged with a DWI and may face penalties.
Contact New York Criminal Lawyer
If you’re charged with DWI, or any alcohol-related offense, you do have rights. The Law Office of Reuven J. Epstein will work hard to represent your case. If you wish to hire a criminal lawyer, then call 845-459-0002 or email at email@example.com.
We serve the areas of New York, New City, Rockland, Rockland County and Spring Valley. To know more visit http://reuvenjepsteinlaw.com/.
In New York, driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious crime. When one is convicted of multiple DWI, it can lead to severe legal consequences which can range from fines of up to $10,000 and license revocation of 18 months or more. In New York, a driver can be convicted of a DWI if the blood alcohol content is 0.08 percent or more.
First time offense- A driver convicted of DWI for the first time can pay up to a $1000 fine. The license may be revoked for 6 months or more, and 1 year in prison may be mandatory.
Second time offense- A second DWI charge can lead to a felony DWI charge. A felony DWI charge is brought against a driver who committed one of the following:
- Previous DWI within the past 10 years
- Using a driver’s license after it had been suspended due to a DWI charge or conviction
- Driving while intoxicated or impaired with a passenger under the age of 16 years
- Causing death or serious physical injury due to impairment or intoxication
Penalties for a felony DWI include fines between $1000 – $5000, 1 year license suspension and a 4 year jail sentence.
Third time offense - A driver convicted of DWI for more than two times will pay a fine between $2000– $10,000, face license suspension for 18 months and a maximum of 7 years in jail.
Contact DWI Lawyer in Rockland County
Have you been arrested for driving while intoxicated? If you’re charged with DWI or any alcohol-related offense, it’s not hopeless. The Law Office of Reuven J. Epstein will work to help you get the best possible result. To know more, contact 845-459-0002 or email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Usage of the internet for sexual exchange or sexual contact, circulation of explicit material by means of downloading or uploading under the restricted age, is known as internet sex crime.
Adults befriend minors through the internet and arrange meetings with them to engage in sexual activity. This is a sex crime committed using the internet, also known as a cyber-sex crime.
Most internet sex crimes involve minors and the number is rising. One such sex crime is child pornography. The usage of the internet for child pornography has increased. Children are made victim by sending obscene material through email and are lured or enticed for prostitution or pornography. Research shows every year about 2,500 people are arrested for internet related sex crimes.
Consequences of Internet Sex Crime in NY
Getting involved or being convicted of an internet sex crime is a serious offense. Some of the consequences are:
- Jail sentence for a minimum of one year or probation for 6 to 10 years.
- A person convicted of an internet sex crime will be registered as a sex offender under the Sex Offender Registration Act (SORA).
- Internet sex crimes can prevent a person from enjoying social privileges like obtaining housing, employment, and other benefits.
Contact the Law Office of Reuven J. Epstein
If you or a loved one has been molested, raped, sexually assaulted or abused do not hesitate to contact the Law Office of Reuven J. Epstein. The Law Office of Reuven J. Epstein can assist you in investigating and preparing your case. To know more, call 845-459-0002 or email at email@example.com.