January 17

What Happens if You Refuse a Breathalyzer Test in NY?

If you have been arrested for a DWI, a police officer may ask you to take a breathalyzer test to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC). If you refuse to take the test, then you may face penalties. You need to consider hiring a DWI attorney to dismiss or reduce your charges.

Penalties for Refusing a Breathalyzer Test in NY

  • If you refuse a breathalyzer test for the first time, your license may be suspended for one year and you may face a civil penalty of $500.
  • If you refuse a breathalyzer test for a second time, your license may be suspended for 18 months and you may need to pay a fine of $750. This is also applicable for anyone who refuses a breathalyzer and has a prior DWI conviction within the past 5 years.
  • Zero Tolerance Law says if a driver younger than 21 refuses a breathalyzer test, then he may face one year license suspension and a $300 civil penalty.

DWI Attorney in Rockland, NY

Attorney Reuven J. Epstein, a DWI attorney in Rockland, NY has experience handling DWI offenses in NY. He patiently guides clients through the legal system in NY. If you have been charged for a DWI offense, then call 845-459-0002 for a free consultation with Attorney Reuven J. Epstein.

January 2

Sex Crimes Requiring Sex Offender Registration in NY

When a person is convicted of a sexual offense, and they complete probation or punishment, they must register as a sex offender after returning to the community. Even those who have been convicted of a sexual offense in another state must register with the New York State Board of Examiners of Sex Offenders when they relocated to New York State.

Sex Crimes Requiring Sex Offender Registration in NY

Sex crimes that require sex offender registration in NY include:

  • Sexual abuse
  • Rape
  • Forcible touching
  • Persistent or aggravated sexual abuse
  • Sexual conduct against a child
  • Facilitating a sex offense with a controlled substance
  • Predatory sexual assault
  • Kidnapping
  • Patronizing a prostitute or promoting or compelling prostitution
  • Sex trafficking
  • Disseminating indecent material to minors, incest, unlawful surveillance

Criminal Defense Attorney in NY

If you have been convicted of a sexual offense in NY, then hire a criminal defense attorney to protect your rights. Attorney Reuven J. Epstein, a criminal defense attorney in NY can handle any type of criminal defense case in NY. Call 800-579-1605 for a free initial consultation with Attorney Epstein.

December 31

Types of Sex Crimes in NY

Sex crime is forced or illegal sexual conduct against another individual. If you have been charged with a sex crime in NY, then you may face penalties and jail time. Retain an experienced sex crime attorney to receive the best possible outcome.

Types of Sex Crimes in NY

Rape: Rape is forcing a person to have sex without consent. Types of rape include statutory rape, spousal rape and date rape.

Child Pornography: Child pornography is the illegal use of children in pornographic pictures or films or forcing a child to expose herself or himself.

Prostitution: Prostitution is the exchange of sex for money. Everything related to prostitution is illegal in NY.

Indecent Exposure: Indecent exposure refers to intentional exposure of one’s body parts, mainly genitals, in a public place.

Forcible Touching:  Forcible touching is touching someone with the intention to abuse.

Sexual Assault: Sexual assault is any involuntary sexual act in which a person is threatened, coerced, or forced to engage against their will.

Internet sex crimes: Internet sex crimes involve using the internet for posting child pornography videos and committing other sexual crimes.

Sex Crime Attorney in NY

If you are charged with a sex crime in NY, then hire a sex crime attorney. Attorney Reuven J. Epstein has years of experience handling sex related crimes. He patiently guides his clients through the legal system in NY. Call 800-579-1605 for a free consultation with Attorney Reuven J. Epstein.

December 19

DWI Defense in Spring Valley, NY- Penalties for Refusing Breathalyzer Test

If you are stopped for a DWI in NY, then the officer may perform a breathalyzer test. According to New York law, if the results show that your BAC is above the legal limit (.08%), then the officer will arrest you and subject you to additional tests like urine or saliva. Refusing a breathalyzer test is against New York law and carries penalties.

Penalties for Refusing Breathalyzer Test

  • For the first time offense, your license will be suspended for one year. You may also need to pay $500 for violating state’s consent law.
  • For second or subsequent refusal of breathalyzer test, your license will be suspended for 18 months and you will be expected to pay a $750 fine. This penalty is also applicable if the defendant has a prior DWI conviction within the past 5 years.

DWI Attorney in Spring Valley, NY

If you have been charged for a DWI offense in NY, then it is advisable to consult a DWI attorney. Attorney Reuven J. Epstein, a DWI defense attorney in Spring Valley, NY is experienced in handling DWI cases. He has efficient knowledge in DWI related laws and has expertise to efficiently deal with them. The Law Office of Reuven J. Epstein will work hard to help you get the best possible result. Call 800-579-1605 for a consultation with Attorney Reuven J. Epstein.

NEWER OLDER 1 2 13 14 15