Understanding the differences between alcohol-related offenses
Aggravated DWI (Driving While Intoxicated): .18 or higher BAC (blood alcohol concentration)
DWI: .08 BAC or higher or other evidence of intoxication
DWAI (Driving While Ability Impaired [by alcohol]): .05 to .07 BAC, or other evidence of impairment
Zero Tolerance Law: A driver less than 21 years of age who drives with a .02 to .07 BAC
Chemical Test Refusal: A driver who refuses to take a chemical test (blood, breath, urine, or saliva) can receive a driver license revocation of at least one year, and must pay a $500 civil penalty (both the suspension and penalty are greater for a commercial vehicle driver) before applying for a new driver’s license.
Let the Rockland County and Orange County, NY DWI/DUI Defense Lawyers at the Law Office of Reuven J. Epstein Fight for Your Rights
In New York, driving while intoxicated is a serious crime, and if you’re found guilty of violating the law, the consequences can be severe, ranging from fines of up to $10,000, and license revocation of 18 months or more. When you add the increase in insurance, the financial penalties can threaten your daily life. If you’re charged with a DWI or any alcohol-related offense, then it’s not hopeless. You do have rights, and the DWI/DUI defense lawyers at the Law Office of Reuven J. Epstein will work hard to help you get the best possible result.
Keep your driver’s license; obtain a “Conditional License”
Our DWI defense lawyers help you keep your driver’s license. If that’s not possible, we will request the court’s permission to grant you a “conditional license” that allows you to drive to and from work and medical appointments.
Have you been charged with DUI/DWI in New York?
When charged with such an offense it can be a burden on you and your loved ones. You might think it would be easier to plead guilty. Before you decide, you should know the charges for DUI/DWI:
- considered a misdemeanor
- can pay up to $1000 in fines
- driver’s license may be revoked for 6 months or more
- spend as much a 1 year in prison
- classified as a felony
- can be charged up $1000 – $5000 in fines
- 1 year license suspension
- 4 year jail sentence
- $2000 – $10,000 in fines
- 18 month license suspension
- Maximum 7 year jail sentence
These charges go on your criminal record, permanently, and can affect employment, insurance, and in some cases your ability to travel to other countries.
Don’t Wait Any Further! Contact our Rockland County and Orange County, NY DWI Defense Lawyers Immediately!
If you or a loved one has a DWI arrest in NY, then don’t wait! Contact the Law Office of Reuven J. Epstein immediately! We listen to your concerns, and answer your questions and keep you informed about the case. For effective and efficient DWI defense in NY, call 845-459-0002 and schedule a consultation with our skilled and experienced DWI defense lawyers.