Guilty of DUI/DWI – BAC Levels Measured
Different BAC Levels and DUI/DWI Charges
It is illegal to operate any type of vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs. BAC levels in which a person is considered for a DUI/DWI charge are:
- 21 years or older with a BAC over 0.08.
- 21 years or older with a BAC over 0.04 driving a commercial vehicle.
- Zero Tolerance Law for Minors (under 21) who drive with a 0.02 to 0.07 BAC.
Levels vary depending on an individual’s height, weight, and metabolism.
DWI/DUI in New York
In New York the law requires you take a blood, breath, urine, or saliva test if you are arrested for a DUI/DWI. This is due to the “implied consent” law which states if you are arrested by an officer who has probable cause to believe you have been driving intoxicated, then you must take the test to determine your BAC.
You do have the choice to refuse the test. If you refuse you may pay fines up to $1000, and your license may be suspended for up to 18 months.
New York has some of the toughest DUI/DWI laws in the United States. The consequences may lead to fines of up to $10,000, 18 months license suspension, and up to 7 years in prison. The law can be unyielding, and that is why you need an attorney to help you get the best outcome.
Contact New York Criminal Defense Lawyer
Have you been accused of drunk driving? Attorney Reuven J. Epstein will fight for your rights. The Law Office of Reuven J. Epstein is ready to help you.