DWI Penalties

Depending upon the nature of the offense, the individual’s age and prior convictions, charges associated with drunk driving can result in stiff penalties.

Understand DWI Penalties

DWI penalties depend on factors like:

  • Age
  • The impairing substance such as alcohol, drugs, or a combination of both
  • Driver’s license (regular passenger license vs. a special license like a CDL)
  • Whether an individual submitted to a chemical test

DWI Penalties: For Drivers Younger Than 21

All the drivers under the age of 25 should follow New York’s Zero Tolerance Law. This means that they should not drive if their BAC is 0.02% or more.

1st Offense

  • License suspension for 6 months
  • $125 civil penalty
  • $100 fee for suspension termination
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and all the associated costs
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation, and all associated costs

2nd Offense

  • License revocation for 1 year (or until one turns 21 years old)
  • $125 civil penalty
  • $100 fee for suspension termination
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and all the associated costs
  • Possible ignition interlock device installation, and all associated costs

DWI Penalties: For Drivers who are 21 and Older

If BAC is 0.08% or higher then you will be arrested for a DWI.

1st Offense

  • License suspension for a minimum of 6 months
  • Jail term for up to 1 year
  • Fines between $500 to $1,000

2nd offense

  • License suspension for a minimum of 1 year
  • Jail term for up to 4 years
  • Fines between $1,000 to $5,000

3rd Offense

  • License suspensionfor a minimum of 1 year
  • Jail term for up to 7 years
  • Fines between $2,000 to $10,000

Aggravated DWI

If your BAC is 0.18% or higher, you’ll get an Aggravated DWI1st Offense

1st Offense

  • License revocation for at least 1 year
  • A $1,000 – $2,500 fine
  • A minimum $250 annual assessment fine, for a total of $750 in fines over 3 years.
  • Up to 1 year in jail
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and all the associated costs

2nd Offense

A second offense in 10 years brings:

  • License revocation for at least 18 months
  • A $1,000 to $5,000 fine
  • A minimum $250 annual assessment fine, for a total of $750 in fines over 3 years.
  • Up to 4 years in jail.
  • A Class E Felony.
  • Possible enrollment in the New York Drinking Driver Program (DDP) and all the associated costs

Contact DWI defense lawyer at 845-459-0002

It is in your best interest to contact a DWI defense lawyer if you or a loved one has been charged with a DWI.  A DWI defense lawyer will be able to provide a thorough and effective defense for you. If you or a loved one has a DWI arrest in NY, then don’t wait! Contact the Law Office of Reuven J. Epstein immediately! For an effective and efficient DWI defense in NY, you can call us at 845-459-0002/800-579-1605 or email: info@reuvenjepsteinlaw.com/ reuven@reuvenjepsteinlaw.com.